Friday, July 3, 2009

New Blog

Hey Everybody-

I'm starting a video blog, or simply a "Vlog" because I just bought a new camcorder and I liked blogging while over in Europe.
Not sure whether or not I'll be writing on there. I like the idea of just video.
Anyways, here is the URL.
http://www.1tylerhemple.blogspot.com

Thanks!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Paris Day III et finale!

Another grand day in the city of Paris and another long update on here. Unfortunately, the trip is coming to end and that means this is the last update I will be doing.
All good things have to come to end, right?
Yesterday Dan and I took the metro line no. 7 to line no. 2 and got off in the Montmartre district.
This part of town was far different than any of the other parts of Paris we saw. Different architecture, that is all I know that is different. Obviously I am no history buff.
Eventually we made our way over to the base of the Cathedrale Sacre Couer, or the Sacred Heart. The view to the top was amazing. To get to the entrance, you had to walk up these steps that were like grand staircases, just outside! The only problem was there was many illegal merchants everywhere trying to sell you stuff. Some of them were more persistent than others.
Going up the first flight of stairs, Dan and I were approached by two men demanding that we give them our fingers so they could wrap string around it. Being used to this in Rome, we simply said 'Not interested' and tried to keep walking. Except they blocked our paths and wouldn't let us path. I tried to push him out of the way but he grabbed my hand and wouldn't let me go.
I am a nice guy, but sometimes people like that are so persisent you have to be mean.
Making our way up the stairs, we took a bunch of pictures.
Then we got almost to the top and there was this harp player playing the song from the titanic, by Celine Dione. Dan and I stopped and listened to him play for a while.
Then we enterred the church and stayed here for a minute. After this, we climbed to the top of the church and enjoyed the views from the top.
At about 12, we found a pizza-icecream shop and took refuge there as it began to rain heavily.
After this we went back to the hostel because the weather was horrible.
At about 6PM, Dan and I took the metro over to the eiffel tower to do this Nightbiketour of Paris. Even though it was raining, we still decided to do it. We met about 20 other people and all got our california cruisers and started biking the streets of Paris at 8PM. This was so much fun! We biked all the way to Notre Dame and learned some fun history over there. Then we ate icecream at an all natural ingrediant icecream place. I forget the name, but apparently it is very famous. And it was delicious. Later we biked through the courtyards of the Louvre. After some fun there, we all got to take an hour long boat ride down the River Siene and everybody got some french wine. I had some, but it wasn't to tasty. I stick to Sprite next time.
Through the rain for 5 hours, Dan and I turned in our bikes at midnight and ran over to the metro because they close at 12:30. We took two trains and made the last one by ten minutes. If we missed it, Dan and I figured we would have to walked 6 miles through town.
We made it safely back to the hostel and then took hot showers and called it a night.
So today (Tuesday) is our last full day in Paris.
We headed out and went to the Catacombs of Paris, which were very creepy. You take 170 eerie steps down to the undergrounds of Paris and walk through these darkly light passageways. It was very interesting. Then we walked into the room and the only word we could understand was 'morte' which means 'death'. Not knowing what to expect, I walk into a room full of skulls and bones. All of the bones were stacked neatly. It gave me the creeps. We must have walked through 20 minutes of nothing but skulls and bones all over the place. But it didn't smell to bad.
Once outside again, we realized all the bones downstairs gave us a huge appetite (ha, how gross right?)
So we went to the market and ate barbecue chips and soda. Talk about a nutritious diet.
Pretty exhausted and tired, Dan and I jumped on the Juisee train station and headed back to the hostel. Before we got back to the hostel I stopped at a Boulangerie, which is a bakery. I spend so much money in these things. They are sooo good.
So tomorrow at 1:50 we leave the Paris airport and we arrive in Philadelphia at 7:30 your time. Now til then is just packing bags and relaxation.
I am going to try and add pictures on here in a few days for everybody to look at.
End note,
Tyler
time:3:15

Sunday, June 7, 2009

Paris Day 2

Today was another busy day here in the city of the lights. Before I get into today, let me tell you guys about last night.

Dan and I decided to go out last night at about 11 or so for a few hours to go check out the Moulin Rouge.

We didn't actually see a show because one ticket costs about 150 euros, so we thought it would be cool to go check it out and it wasn't that far from our hostel. About a 40 minute walk and we were there. What we saw was what we did not expect.

On the way there, many blocks were filled with strip clubs and stuff like that. We both thought that it was really classy. So we took a couple pictures of the place and bounced. Luckily there was a metro and we took that back all the way back to the hostel.

We retired for the night around 1 or so and then woke up at 8 and ate breakfast. Then we took the metro line over the Louvre- which if you don't know is the biggest museum in the world, home to millions and millions of dollars worth of art pieces. Apparently there are 65,300 pieces of art in there which seems about right. Dan and I spent about 2 hours in there. Once we saw the mona lisa we both decided to get outta there. Normally the price to get in is 9 euro, but every first Sunday of the month all the museums here in Paris are FREE!!

So after the Louvre, we checked out this other museum, forget the name, for a little while. Then we went out to lunch at this pizza shop. The pizza was absolutely amazing but the service was awful there.

After food, we found this real cool souvenir shop and both bought tons of souvenirs to bring home. I have so many it takes up almost half of my bag, don't know how I am gonna bring it all home.

After this we went to the Cathedrale Notre Dame. This was huge and had alot of those gargoyles on the outside. While in line to get in, a frenchman tried to get through and neither Dan nor I saw him so he made a pig snort noise right in our faces. This kinda ticked us off and we yelled at the pig but he kept walking.

We went inside and realized that it was Sunday and that all 3 sundays we have been away we've atleast been inside a church. (Vatican in Rome, Cathedrale in Lyon and now Notre Dame) so that should make my mom happy=) After being inside for a while we decided to head back to the hostel and call it a day. We were both very very tired. This backpacking thing has a tiring effect unfortunately.

When we were in Rome, I read the book 'Angels and Demons' because the book takes place in Rome. And last night in our hostels bookstore I found 'The Da Vinci Code' which takes place in Paris. So I bought it and now reading it and seeing the Parisian Culture come to life.

End note,

Tyler

Saturday, June 6, 2009

Paris day 1!

I'm going to try and update everyday because there is so much to see and do here in Paris that it would be impossible to update every so often.
We woke at 8AM and I was rather grumpy. I slept so good for the first time in weeks I just didn't want to get out of bed. Dan didn't see anyof it. He dragged me outta bed. I wasn't to happy then but glad he did because we did a ton today.
We ate the typical breakfast and went out for the day.
We got a block before I needed to turn around to get more clothes on. Today in Paris was cloudy and raining and was probably around 50 degrees. So I had shorts on and went in to change into some pants and get a hoodie on.
Then we took the pink line number 7 metro to Neuf Pont. By the way, there is about 14 metro lines which is just insane to navigate through. You can get from one side of town to the exact opposite side in about 10 minutes.
So we got off the train and had to wait about an hour and half for a free tour that left at the st. michel fountain. We got there and decided to chill under the bridge and away from the rain right where all the hobos sleep.
The buildings here are beautiful. So much different style than the states.
So after about an hour and half, right when the tour was about to start Dan and I decided to ditch it and head over the eiffel tower. We walked along the river for maybe a couple of miles before the giant tower stood before us. It never looked so real in any of the pictures I've ever seen.
When we got to the tower, there was a giant celebration going on, everyone decked out in yellow and red, like the spanish flag and all cheering USAP USAP over and over again. I think some soccer tournament just ended last night with USAP winning apparently.
We had heard to get to the top of tower it costs a lot of money. We also heard the lines were terribly long.Wherever we heard that from was lies.
We decided to take the stairs half way and an elevator to the top which costs us only 7 euros(about ten bucks). We were very happy with the price. As we made the ascent up many people passed us on the way down with happy faces so we new the view would please even if it was rainy.
On the first floor, it's probably a hundred feet up and the base is huge. Tons of space to walk around. After a few minutes we took the steps up the next floor which is a couple hundred feet up. We noticed that not nearly as many people were walking up this part. We made it to the second floor which is about half way up and stayed here for a few minutes. We both wanted to go to the top though. We took an elevator the rest of the way. Once out of the elevator, you are dropped off in this room where it shows you in what direction each city around the world is at. On second you could be looking in the direction of South Africa, next second looking 9000KM away from New York. It was pretty cool. We took stairs up to the opening and the views up high of the entire city was just spectacular. You can see everything. We could see the arch di triumphe from the top which look liked a speck because of how high we were. I took a bunch of pictures where I put my camera over the ledge facing down. Dan got nervous thinking I was gonna drop it but I didn't. And I'm glad I didn't. Could have killed someone if it hit anybody.
We stayed up for a good while and then headed back down to the base. In the area, we decided to cross the river and head to the Arch De Triumphe.
The next quarter of mile there was non stop merchants trying to sell you miniature eiffel towers every ten feet it seemed. Once passed the merchants, we walked to the famous memorial of Napolean.
If anybody knows history about this, they built the arch around a circle where 12 streets come together. There are no traffic lights, just cars going in every different direction. It could possibly be the craziest intersection ever. When we got there we had no idea how to get the arch but then found out you have to take a tunnel underground so you don't get killed by all the cars out there.
I hadn't realized that the Arch was so huge. We played minesweeper and ate cheap cookies as we took a break under the Arch. Then we went to the golden arches. That's right. We ate McDonald's in Paris. We had big macs which Dan didn't like.
Then we walked all the way to the Louvre and through all these gardens and passed a few obelisks and fountains. Buy the time we got to the Louvre, we realized that we needed to get back to the hostel to make the 7PM dinner. We hopped on the metro again and headed back to our hostel on Rue de Crimee.
The rest of the night we've been chilling around the huge hostel here.
Tomorrow is museum day.
End note,
Tyler

Friday, June 5, 2009

Nice and Paris

So now our stay in Nice is over so let me go over it. I finally have an american keyboard so I can write. The french keyboards are very tricky, you have to shift to get a period and many of the buttons are far different. So now I can write a little.
We got to Nice on Tuesday around 4PM and hadn't had anything since an early breakfast so we were starving. We had dinner at the promenade and then checked into our hostel, 'Hotel Meyerbeer Beach' which is only 2 blocks from the beautiful beaches. When we checked in, our room was kinda small. And it had 8 beds in it. The room should have had around 4 people in it so it was EXTREMELY tight to manuever. If you were clausterphobic (sp?) you'd be in for trouble. But Dan and I have seen worse so we didn't mind much, besides the roommates were pretty cool anyway.
Once we got rid of our appetites, we suited up for the rock beaches of Nice. Dan went for the water and I just wanted to lay out in the sun. As soon as we got there we noticed something we never noticed back in the states. We were on a nude beach. Many of the woman were going topless. Not feeling to comfortable, we stayed on the beach for an hour tops and then decided to do other things in Nice instead of the beaches.
So Wednesday we slept til about ten AM which is by far the latest we have slept because the hotel did not give free breakfasts. We had these belgium sugar waffles right down the street which were great.
Luckily Nice has this tour called the 'Le Grande tour Nice' which is a bus that takes tourists all over Nice and you can get off and on at 14 different stops. Dan and I did the whole tour on Wednesday and learned alot about the history and culture of the city. Then we climbed this castle, I forget what it was called but it once was a castle that has amazing panaromic views of the city. (the picture on the front of the blog is taking from up there but not by me).
After a few hours of admiring the views of the coastline of Nice, we walked back to our hostel and did laundry for the rest of the day.
Thursday we woke up 11 again, sleeping in. Then we had our waffles and heading out for a property at northern nice that had a couple of free museums. We walked through this cool orchard for a few minutes and then went into the Henri Matisse museum. About ten minutes later we exited. LOL. We aren't big fans of art so we just look and then leave. We saw a few more museums and then went to the opposite side of town and found the Eglise Russe, which is a church that was designed by a Russian. It looked like it belonged in Moscow. It was really really unique.
For dinner, yet again we had this thing called Kebab. It's like a pork sandwich that is pretty inexpensive but very very unhealthy. We've had it atleast 5 times since in Europe.
Friday we woke up at 8 and headed to the Nice Ville train station and had to wait about an hour to get on board. Once on the train, we had a 5 hour, 40 minute train ride to Paris. This was by far the longest train ride we've had so far.
Once in the Paris Gare de Lyon station, we took a couple metro stations and walked to our hostel 'St. Christophers Inn' which is awesome so far.
Tomorrow we plan to start touring.
Leave love!

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Through June 2nd

So I haven't updated for while because the last few days the internet has been caveman like and the french keyboards are really confusing. Sorry for any typos.
Friday was our last day in Interlaken. This was our favorite city so it was tough to leave.
We took the two hour train to Luzern and headed for our hostel. Unfortunately we couldn't check in so this was a bummer because we were early. So, we jumped on a 90 minute yacht and headed for the base of Mount Pilatus.
Once there, we took the steepest cog rail train to the top of the mountain at 7,000 feet. Once at the top, It was really cold and I forgot my hoodie so I mainly coughed and shiffered. We went down the mountain on the opposite side on the gondola. We didn't do much for the rest of the night. When we went to bed, our roommate tom snored louder than a bear. I couldn't believe it.
The next morning we left for Geneva, Switzerland. Once there, we found out that CERN, the lab dan wanted to see was closed on Saturday so we had nothing do. The hostel wasn't to nice either. No kitchen, bad roommates and expensive internet made our one night stay in geneva bad one.
The next morning we took the train to Lyon, France. We had to walk a long 2 miles to our hostel. The last leg was up a very steep hill that nearly drained us. Once in the hostel, the view was terrific as we had a yard to sit in with a panoramic view of Lyon.
On Monday, we walked around Lyon though most things were closed as Monday is a quiet day in this town. We still had tons of fun.
This morning we geared up and left for the train station. Around 3PM we arrived in the beautiful Nice, France.
Tonight we haven't done much except lay on the beach as our hostel is only 2 blocks from the beach=)
I should be updatting this on Friday when we get to Paris.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Full Interlaken update coming your way...

So I haven't told you guys much about Interlaken. I'm pretty sure this is the coolest place in the world. Much better than Venice as you can see in my last post.
We got here Tuesday and did pretty much nothing but relaxation on Tuesday night as we were very tired. We also did our laundry (which was much over due!) and talked to our roommates from Alabama.
We woke up Wednesday morning (yesterday) and found that the hostel serves an "all you can eat" continental breakfast. This was by far the best breakfast we've had since we've been in Europe. I had cereal and I tried this chocolate spread that goes on your bread called "Nutella". This is the best stuff on earth. I gotta buy some when I get home. Chocolatey breakfast. hmmmm.
After the breakfast, Dan and I packed up for the day and went to Daniel's Fun Rental to rent what's called a 'funcar'. Basically, it's a two door mini car that doesn't have windows. It was pretty awesome and very useful. Alot of Swiss natives gave us funny looks because of the car.
After getting the car, the lady at Funrental gave us a map and said it would be a good idea to head North to Lauterbrunnen and See the Brimmelbach cascades. When we first started driving it was cloudy and chilly so it was a cold ride there. But we got great video of the surrounding mountains as we drove through a nice valley. We past through many small villages on the way. Once there, we paid the price and took a lift that went through a mountain a few hundred feet up and worked our way down seeing ten cascades in all. Because it had heavily rained the night before, the cascades were really powerful. Dan and I thought this was awesome and took many pictures.
It was neat to see how powerful it could be.
Once done that we headed back towards Interlaken but changed direction and drove through Grindelwald. On the way, many people passed us on the road as our car couldn't go that fast.
Once in Grindelwald, we parked our car and sat at the base of The Jungfrau mountain region. That's the highest point in all of Europe. We noticed how much snow and ice were at the top of the mountain and how neither I or Dan had seen a mountain that big. I much enjoyed this because my love for nature. I have never hiked a mountain higher than 2,000 feet above sea level and these mountains were easily above 10,000 feet.
We got back in the car and headed back to Interlaken to see the West sides lake of the town. Filled with boats and beautiful blue water, we took some pictures and then departed back to the Funrental place.
After this, we had lunch in a grocery store. I won't go into details here as it is pretty boring, just people eating:)
Later in the day, we went to Seilpark Outdoor Interlaken to do the rope course. This was a huge surprise to me. After suiting up, Dan and I began climbing up into the trees ziplining and balancing through the course. After doing several of the beginner courses and a medium course, we decided to try the expert trail, the covetted "Eagle". Once up in the air, we had a challenge of a life time. We struggled to get our feet in these pedals that went from tree to tree. We both laughed at eachother struggling through. Once done the course, we felt equally accomplished and soar from our waist up. Alot of upper body strength was definetely used.
After this, we enjoyed a hamburger dinner and did not that much for the rest of the night.
Today was just as fun as yesterday. We woke up and ate breakfast and then decided to go to a watch shop that we could collect a free gift. We like anything free. Then we headed to the "best souvenir shop" in Interlaken and bought souvenirs for all you people reading this right now.
When we got back we prepared for an amazing day: Canyoning the Saxeton.
If you are reading this, you probably don't know what Canyoning is. That's because back in the states it's illegal. To put it roughly, it's like white water rafting without the raft.
Once picked up from our hostel, we headed to Outdoor Interlaken and got our wet suits on. We had a body suit, shoes, a helmet, a wetsuit jacket and a life preserver. Once all 7 of us were suited up, we headed up the Saxeten trail. Ten minutes of hiking and we arrived at the start point. To do Canyoning, instructions are key. As soon as we got in the water, it was cold for about 2 minutes then our wetsuits kicked in the heat. Once in the water we followed the group leaders and started sliding down slides, rapelling, and jumping down waterfalls. The scariest part was my first jump. Basically, we had to jump over a waterfall and you had to land perfectly on your back in the correct part of water. At first I thought there might be a rock right where I land, but once I jumped and posed for the picture I landed in the cool brook that swept me down stream a little bit. Dan enjoyed his jump to. The whole group got along great and had a wonderful time in the water. Once back at the site, everyone got a free bier(as the swiss say it) but Dan and I didn't drink and the workers thought this was kinda odd. Power to us.
Now we are back in the hostel and have completed all our activities here in Interlaken. Tomorrow morning at 9:04 AM we depart for a two hour train to Lucerne.
Hopefully I'll be able to update.
End note, Tyler
Time:5:25PM

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Sorry For the delay

Man, it's been a while since we've had internet connection. So that means one thing.
I have a ton of updating to do on here. So here it goes:

Saturday was a fun filled day. We took the Metro-Line Red to the Ottaviano station and walked 4 or 5 blocks to the entrance of the Vatican Museum. Once inside, we we're busy recording video and taking pictures of the historical pieces such as statues, fountains, and tons of frescoes. It got really packed in there, which made it a little complicated, but we made it through. Once we made the long journey to the end of the museum we arrived in the legendary Capella Sistina, or the 'Sistine Chapel'. I hadn't seen a picture of Michaelangelo's masterpiece in years so it made it all the better. Dan decided to 'bend not break' the rules and take a video of the room, much to the disproval of the museum polizia officer. lol.
Later, we went to the entrance of the Vatican and admired the St. Pietro De Basilica, we decided against going on because the line was forever long.
After, we walked along the Il Passetto and found the Castle Angelo. We did alot of walking around that day. We guess we walked about 25 total miles in our stay in Rome.
The last few days have been pretty discouraging.
Monday morning we checked out of the Mosaic Hostel in Rome and heading for the Termini to depart our 9:00 AM train ride to Firenze SMN. We then switched there and headed to Pisa. Once outside the Pisa Centrale stazione, we walked one mile north to the site of the leaning tower. On the way, we stopped for pizza and got charged a whopping four euros for a can of sprite. (That's 6 US dollars folks!)
Once on the property, we went to the ticket booth and bought a 5 entrance pass to the things around the tower. We didn't however climb the tower as it was kind of pricey.
The property was much relaxing. We toured a basilica, then a couple boring, empty museums. We spent about an hour inside the Baptisteri, which had an echo display. Feeling tired we layed inside and played papi man on dan's ipod touch. Book this: As soon as I get home, I must get me one of these devices. I had a lot of fun playing on it.
We decided to go back out in to the hot sun and take the funny pictures where you pose like your holding up the tower from falling. I took my picture as if I was pushing over the tower. After this, we got a whistle blowed at us by the guard for being on the grass. We thought this was pretty fun.
Then, we relaxed outside the basilica in the shade for maybe 2 and half hours. I read 'Angels and Demons', which is a great book I really recommend it and Dan journalled. This was probably the highlight of the day as we had no hostel to go to so it was the only relaxation we would get.
After a lengthy stay on the tower grounds, we made our way back through the city and got to the train station. Once there, we had to wait about 3 hours for our night train back to Firenze SMN( that would eventually go to Venice). We sat at our platform for about an hour and talked. Once on board the train, we saw the train-ticket-checker lady yell at about 3 people next to us for not having the correct tickets. We noticed how vigilant at her job she was. About an hour and a half later we arrived at Firenze SMN at 11:45 PM. We then needed to take a different train to Venice. Here's the catch: this train we needed to catch was at the Firenze Campo di Marte station, way on the other town.
So here we are, in town we've never heard of, with a language we don't speak, and at an hour where there are no workers to help us, looking for a bus to get us to the station. The first couple bus drivers had no clue what we were talking about, and didn't seem like they wanted to help.
But then we got lucky. A bus driver stopped at the train station and said in english that he could take us there. About ten minutes later, he said 'Campo di marto' so we got off and he pointed in the direction that we needed to go. Here we were, walking the side streets in a very quiet, but scary town. I was worried and tried to walk as fast as I could. About 5 blocks later, I found the entrance to the station and was filled with relief.
Unfortunately, we had to wait about an hour in the lonely, empty station for our train. While sitting down, you could here the crickets. That's how quiet it was.
An hour later, our one way train to Venezia pulled up. Once inside, we were in the shocker for a lifetime. We opened up our 6 seater car and and found 2 men already inside. We were immediately hit with a funk smell like none other. Sleep no longer was the main objective. Staying alive was more important. We couldn't open up a window because it was really cold outside. Luckily I brought a small blanket it on the trip and wrapped it around my face to block out the smell. I got about 2.5 hours of sleep while dan may only have gotten one on the 3.5 hour train ride to Venezia.
At 5:26 AM sharp, we arrived in Venezia-Santa Lucia. We got off and found that the bathrooms and luggage storage would not open for a half hour. How convenient. We needed to drop our main bags because we were only in venice for the day, no hostel, another night train at 7:57 PM. As I waited for it to open, I began to ask myself, how am I gonna make it through 13 hours in this city? And how will I sleep on the night train tonight?
Once the bathroom opened, I struggled to brush my teeth in the less then sanitary public restroom. Dan didn't seem to enthused as he was walking on one hour of sleep.
When we got to drop our bags off, the guy was a complete jerk. Not wanting to look us in the face, we left with the first bad taste for venice. Then we decided to make our reservation for the 7:57PM train to Interlaken, Switzerland. We weren't greeted with much respect at the ticket window either.The ticket window guy would not look at my sheet with the train number, and refused to look at the computer screen to make sure the price. He just blurted out, "25 EUROS". Not having enough money, we walked outside the train station with yet another bad taste for Venice.
Once outside, we instantly found the main river that runs through venice. We walked over the bridge and began walking through the town. About a half mile into the town, we came across about 5 people. Two of them city workers cleaning the streets, 2 of them citizens and the other one a school kid late for school. We found this to be very boring. We then decided to take refuge on a bridge. Dan sat on one side, while I on the other, not blocking people from walking. Then a grumpy citizen walked on the bridge began yelling Italian obsenities targetted right for us. Even after he walked by us he kept going. We were startled and offended by this man. Both in agreement, we almost said at the same time, "why don't we go back to the train station and find the fastest way to Interlaken as soon as possible". So here's hour our Venice stay went:
We arrived at 5:26 AM.
We departed at 8:50 AM.
Talk about a not lengthy stay at a city I had always dreamed about. Here's a city, since I was 8, had always loved and admired for its unique design and had always wanted to see. And set off by three very rude people, we decided to head to Interlaken early for a bed later that night.
By 3:57 PM, we arrived in the quiet district of Interlaken, Switzerland. "ahh" we thought to ourself.
We checked into the hostel and had a good nights rest. We have had a ton of fun in the course of 24 hours, I will fill you in when I get a chance. Now is dinner.
End note, Tyler
Time: 7:43 PM

Friday, May 22, 2009

Te Amo from Napoli è Roma!

Yesterday, we took a trip to 'Pompeii Scavi' meaning Pompeii ruins. It was a sight. Lots of old historic buildings, pots, even a body, stray dogs, and of course plenty of camera ready tourists. Dan took a lot of videos, while I focused on pictures. On the train ride there two Italians played the accordion and sang which was much enjoyable.
When we got back to our hostel, we had to pick up our bags and head to Napoli Centrale Stazione for Roma. Our bags weighed about 35 pounds, and we had to walk about a mile and half, which was very strenous. Upon arrival at the train station, Dan and I were clueless. How ironic, the informazio desk was closed and we were left in a shuffle looking how to book a train to Roma. Soon enough we found the appropriate window and validated our cheap 3 country eurail ticket. Our train left at 16:38. On the way, Dan and I read books and enjoyed the views from the mediterranean and the many mountains that we passed through.
Once out of the Roma termini, we walked the short trek of 4 blocks to our hostel. As soon as we walked in it was dinner time and we got a free bowl of pasta for free. We loved this!
We walked around a little at night before we called it a day.
Today has been great. We saw the Colosseum and Palentino Palace which was gigantic. We're going out later tonight.
Oh and for lunch today we had these pizza sandwiches, which of course we're spectacular.
End, Tyler

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

First Day at a Glance

Time- 1905 (italia time)
So 17 hours of travelling later, and we finally arrive in Naples, Italy. We couldnt be happier. We made it completely safe, not being delayed by any flight or anything. So far we have been here for a few hours and have seen the historic district with plenty of smart cars and mopeds flooding the streets.
Going to the castle soon!

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Our trip in Detail

Through the months we've widdled down to the main cities and countries that we want to see. Originally we wanted to travel through Greece, Italy, Switzerland, Germany and France. Now we have cut the country tour to 3, Italy Switzerland and France because of time restraints and monetary issues. As of this moment (who knows what could happen from now til May!) here is our calendar:


May 20- Land in Naples, Italy
May 21- Naples
May 22- Leave for Rome, Italy
May 23- Rome
May 24- Rome
May 25- Leave for Pisa, Italy
May 26- Leave for Venice, Italy
May 27- Venice, Italy
May 28- Leave for Interlaken, Switzerland
May 29- Interlaken
May 30- Day trip to Lucerne
May 31- Day trip to Zurich
June 1- Leave for Nice, France
June 2- Nice, France
June 3- Nice, France
June 4- Leave for Tours, France
June 5- Tours, France
June 6- Leave for Paris, France
June 7- Paris
June 8- Paris
June 9- Paris
June 10- Depart for U.S.A