Friday, May 22, 2009

Te Amo from Napoli è Roma!

Yesterday, we took a trip to 'Pompeii Scavi' meaning Pompeii ruins. It was a sight. Lots of old historic buildings, pots, even a body, stray dogs, and of course plenty of camera ready tourists. Dan took a lot of videos, while I focused on pictures. On the train ride there two Italians played the accordion and sang which was much enjoyable.
When we got back to our hostel, we had to pick up our bags and head to Napoli Centrale Stazione for Roma. Our bags weighed about 35 pounds, and we had to walk about a mile and half, which was very strenous. Upon arrival at the train station, Dan and I were clueless. How ironic, the informazio desk was closed and we were left in a shuffle looking how to book a train to Roma. Soon enough we found the appropriate window and validated our cheap 3 country eurail ticket. Our train left at 16:38. On the way, Dan and I read books and enjoyed the views from the mediterranean and the many mountains that we passed through.
Once out of the Roma termini, we walked the short trek of 4 blocks to our hostel. As soon as we walked in it was dinner time and we got a free bowl of pasta for free. We loved this!
We walked around a little at night before we called it a day.
Today has been great. We saw the Colosseum and Palentino Palace which was gigantic. We're going out later tonight.
Oh and for lunch today we had these pizza sandwiches, which of course we're spectacular.
End, Tyler

5 comments:

  1. Very nice blog, keep the updates coming!
    PopPop & Betsy

    ReplyDelete
  2. aww sounds like so much fun! are you boys picking up on some italian? i wish i could see what y'all are seeing. so you better be taking a ton of pictures and videos. =]

    ReplyDelete
  3. wow!! The food sounds wonderful...pasta, pizza sands and I also heard all about the gelati your Mom told me about! I have seen photos of Pompii, and now I will get to see some video as well...looking forward to it. Keep those blogs coming!
    T2

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi there - It has been 5 days since we have received a comment from you. Are you having such a good time that you don't have time to write? I understand that! Anyway, keep up posted.

    Pop Pop & Betsy

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sorry pop-pop, we haven't had internet for awhile. It's awesome we're in switzerland now.
    Amanda, the only italian I know is "gratzi" and I think I spelled that wrong.
    T2, the pizza is great but we are sick of it after 6 days straight of pizza. Maybe I will eat it again back in the states.

    ReplyDelete