I'm going to try and update everyday because there is so much to see and do here in Paris that it would be impossible to update every so often.
We woke at 8AM and I was rather grumpy. I slept so good for the first time in weeks I just didn't want to get out of bed. Dan didn't see anyof it. He dragged me outta bed. I wasn't to happy then but glad he did because we did a ton today.
We ate the typical breakfast and went out for the day.
We got a block before I needed to turn around to get more clothes on. Today in Paris was cloudy and raining and was probably around 50 degrees. So I had shorts on and went in to change into some pants and get a hoodie on.
Then we took the pink line number 7 metro to Neuf Pont. By the way, there is about 14 metro lines which is just insane to navigate through. You can get from one side of town to the exact opposite side in about 10 minutes.
So we got off the train and had to wait about an hour and half for a free tour that left at the st. michel fountain. We got there and decided to chill under the bridge and away from the rain right where all the hobos sleep.
The buildings here are beautiful. So much different style than the states.
So after about an hour and half, right when the tour was about to start Dan and I decided to ditch it and head over the eiffel tower. We walked along the river for maybe a couple of miles before the giant tower stood before us. It never looked so real in any of the pictures I've ever seen.
When we got to the tower, there was a giant celebration going on, everyone decked out in yellow and red, like the spanish flag and all cheering USAP USAP over and over again. I think some soccer tournament just ended last night with USAP winning apparently.
We had heard to get to the top of tower it costs a lot of money. We also heard the lines were terribly long.Wherever we heard that from was lies.
We decided to take the stairs half way and an elevator to the top which costs us only 7 euros(about ten bucks). We were very happy with the price. As we made the ascent up many people passed us on the way down with happy faces so we new the view would please even if it was rainy.
On the first floor, it's probably a hundred feet up and the base is huge. Tons of space to walk around. After a few minutes we took the steps up the next floor which is a couple hundred feet up. We noticed that not nearly as many people were walking up this part. We made it to the second floor which is about half way up and stayed here for a few minutes. We both wanted to go to the top though. We took an elevator the rest of the way. Once out of the elevator, you are dropped off in this room where it shows you in what direction each city around the world is at. On second you could be looking in the direction of South Africa, next second looking 9000KM away from New York. It was pretty cool. We took stairs up to the opening and the views up high of the entire city was just spectacular. You can see everything. We could see the arch di triumphe from the top which look liked a speck because of how high we were. I took a bunch of pictures where I put my camera over the ledge facing down. Dan got nervous thinking I was gonna drop it but I didn't. And I'm glad I didn't. Could have killed someone if it hit anybody.
We stayed up for a good while and then headed back down to the base. In the area, we decided to cross the river and head to the Arch De Triumphe.
The next quarter of mile there was non stop merchants trying to sell you miniature eiffel towers every ten feet it seemed. Once passed the merchants, we walked to the famous memorial of Napolean.
If anybody knows history about this, they built the arch around a circle where 12 streets come together. There are no traffic lights, just cars going in every different direction. It could possibly be the craziest intersection ever. When we got there we had no idea how to get the arch but then found out you have to take a tunnel underground so you don't get killed by all the cars out there.
I hadn't realized that the Arch was so huge. We played minesweeper and ate cheap cookies as we took a break under the Arch. Then we went to the golden arches. That's right. We ate McDonald's in Paris. We had big macs which Dan didn't like.
Then we walked all the way to the Louvre and through all these gardens and passed a few obelisks and fountains. Buy the time we got to the Louvre, we realized that we needed to get back to the hostel to make the 7PM dinner. We hopped on the metro again and headed back to our hostel on Rue de Crimee.
The rest of the night we've been chilling around the huge hostel here.
Tomorrow is museum day.
End note,
Tyler
Saturday, June 6, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

dan didn't like big macs?! i love them, although they are terrible for you. i have to see those eiffel tower pictures. sounds like a blast. can't wait to hear about the museums.
ReplyDeletegolden arches, the eiffel tower, the Arc De Triumphe, gardens and museums, the metro system...my boys are all grown up...
ReplyDeleteall grown up momma, yes indeed, and sarah, yes dan didn't like his first big mac, kinda ashame right?
ReplyDeleteWhat a fabulous time you guys are having. Irma is impressed with all the plannning you have done to make this trip so memorable. Continue to enjoy yourself and be safe. Lots of love, Dad
ReplyDeleteWonderful writing job, Tyler...I ALMOST feel like I am with you! Well, I am not wet with the rain, or cold...and I can't even smell those golden arches...yet! I know I would need a lot of help getting around the metro system, I get lost doing the Washington DC metro and that is pretty sane. Enjoy this last leg of your trip, it is going to be fabulous to see all that artwork!
ReplyDeleteLove, T2
when i liked mcdonalds i liked big macs, but now that i don't eat mcdonalds i think they are super gross. dan is perfect for me =] and i never knew you could go up the eiffel tower until i watched this movie call le divorce (which was terrible by the way) and the main characters went to the top of the tower. love, em
ReplyDelete