Monday, June 15, 2009

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Paris Day III et finale!

Another grand day in the city of Paris and another long update on here. Unfortunately, the trip is coming to end and that means this is the last update I will be doing.
All good things have to come to end, right?
Yesterday Dan and I took the metro line no. 7 to line no. 2 and got off in the Montmartre district.
This part of town was far different than any of the other parts of Paris we saw. Different architecture, that is all I know that is different. Obviously I am no history buff.
Eventually we made our way over to the base of the Cathedrale Sacre Couer, or the Sacred Heart. The view to the top was amazing. To get to the entrance, you had to walk up these steps that were like grand staircases, just outside! The only problem was there was many illegal merchants everywhere trying to sell you stuff. Some of them were more persistent than others.
Going up the first flight of stairs, Dan and I were approached by two men demanding that we give them our fingers so they could wrap string around it. Being used to this in Rome, we simply said 'Not interested' and tried to keep walking. Except they blocked our paths and wouldn't let us path. I tried to push him out of the way but he grabbed my hand and wouldn't let me go.
I am a nice guy, but sometimes people like that are so persisent you have to be mean.
Making our way up the stairs, we took a bunch of pictures.
Then we got almost to the top and there was this harp player playing the song from the titanic, by Celine Dione. Dan and I stopped and listened to him play for a while.
Then we enterred the church and stayed here for a minute. After this, we climbed to the top of the church and enjoyed the views from the top.
At about 12, we found a pizza-icecream shop and took refuge there as it began to rain heavily.
After this we went back to the hostel because the weather was horrible.
At about 6PM, Dan and I took the metro over to the eiffel tower to do this Nightbiketour of Paris. Even though it was raining, we still decided to do it. We met about 20 other people and all got our california cruisers and started biking the streets of Paris at 8PM. This was so much fun! We biked all the way to Notre Dame and learned some fun history over there. Then we ate icecream at an all natural ingrediant icecream place. I forget the name, but apparently it is very famous. And it was delicious. Later we biked through the courtyards of the Louvre. After some fun there, we all got to take an hour long boat ride down the River Siene and everybody got some french wine. I had some, but it wasn't to tasty. I stick to Sprite next time.
Through the rain for 5 hours, Dan and I turned in our bikes at midnight and ran over to the metro because they close at 12:30. We took two trains and made the last one by ten minutes. If we missed it, Dan and I figured we would have to walked 6 miles through town.
We made it safely back to the hostel and then took hot showers and called it a night.
So today (Tuesday) is our last full day in Paris.
We headed out and went to the Catacombs of Paris, which were very creepy. You take 170 eerie steps down to the undergrounds of Paris and walk through these darkly light passageways. It was very interesting. Then we walked into the room and the only word we could understand was 'morte' which means 'death'. Not knowing what to expect, I walk into a room full of skulls and bones. All of the bones were stacked neatly. It gave me the creeps. We must have walked through 20 minutes of nothing but skulls and bones all over the place. But it didn't smell to bad.
Once outside again, we realized all the bones downstairs gave us a huge appetite (ha, how gross right?)
So we went to the market and ate barbecue chips and soda. Talk about a nutritious diet.
Pretty exhausted and tired, Dan and I jumped on the Juisee train station and headed back to the hostel. Before we got back to the hostel I stopped at a Boulangerie, which is a bakery. I spend so much money in these things. They are sooo good.
So tomorrow at 1:50 we leave the Paris airport and we arrive in Philadelphia at 7:30 your time. Now til then is just packing bags and relaxation.
I am going to try and add pictures on here in a few days for everybody to look at.
End note,
Tyler
time:3:15

Sunday, June 7, 2009

Paris Day 2

Today was another busy day here in the city of the lights. Before I get into today, let me tell you guys about last night.

Dan and I decided to go out last night at about 11 or so for a few hours to go check out the Moulin Rouge.

We didn't actually see a show because one ticket costs about 150 euros, so we thought it would be cool to go check it out and it wasn't that far from our hostel. About a 40 minute walk and we were there. What we saw was what we did not expect.

On the way there, many blocks were filled with strip clubs and stuff like that. We both thought that it was really classy. So we took a couple pictures of the place and bounced. Luckily there was a metro and we took that back all the way back to the hostel.

We retired for the night around 1 or so and then woke up at 8 and ate breakfast. Then we took the metro line over the Louvre- which if you don't know is the biggest museum in the world, home to millions and millions of dollars worth of art pieces. Apparently there are 65,300 pieces of art in there which seems about right. Dan and I spent about 2 hours in there. Once we saw the mona lisa we both decided to get outta there. Normally the price to get in is 9 euro, but every first Sunday of the month all the museums here in Paris are FREE!!

So after the Louvre, we checked out this other museum, forget the name, for a little while. Then we went out to lunch at this pizza shop. The pizza was absolutely amazing but the service was awful there.

After food, we found this real cool souvenir shop and both bought tons of souvenirs to bring home. I have so many it takes up almost half of my bag, don't know how I am gonna bring it all home.

After this we went to the Cathedrale Notre Dame. This was huge and had alot of those gargoyles on the outside. While in line to get in, a frenchman tried to get through and neither Dan nor I saw him so he made a pig snort noise right in our faces. This kinda ticked us off and we yelled at the pig but he kept walking.

We went inside and realized that it was Sunday and that all 3 sundays we have been away we've atleast been inside a church. (Vatican in Rome, Cathedrale in Lyon and now Notre Dame) so that should make my mom happy=) After being inside for a while we decided to head back to the hostel and call it a day. We were both very very tired. This backpacking thing has a tiring effect unfortunately.

When we were in Rome, I read the book 'Angels and Demons' because the book takes place in Rome. And last night in our hostels bookstore I found 'The Da Vinci Code' which takes place in Paris. So I bought it and now reading it and seeing the Parisian Culture come to life.

End note,

Tyler

Saturday, June 6, 2009

Paris day 1!

I'm going to try and update everyday because there is so much to see and do here in Paris that it would be impossible to update every so often.
We woke at 8AM and I was rather grumpy. I slept so good for the first time in weeks I just didn't want to get out of bed. Dan didn't see anyof it. He dragged me outta bed. I wasn't to happy then but glad he did because we did a ton today.
We ate the typical breakfast and went out for the day.
We got a block before I needed to turn around to get more clothes on. Today in Paris was cloudy and raining and was probably around 50 degrees. So I had shorts on and went in to change into some pants and get a hoodie on.
Then we took the pink line number 7 metro to Neuf Pont. By the way, there is about 14 metro lines which is just insane to navigate through. You can get from one side of town to the exact opposite side in about 10 minutes.
So we got off the train and had to wait about an hour and half for a free tour that left at the st. michel fountain. We got there and decided to chill under the bridge and away from the rain right where all the hobos sleep.
The buildings here are beautiful. So much different style than the states.
So after about an hour and half, right when the tour was about to start Dan and I decided to ditch it and head over the eiffel tower. We walked along the river for maybe a couple of miles before the giant tower stood before us. It never looked so real in any of the pictures I've ever seen.
When we got to the tower, there was a giant celebration going on, everyone decked out in yellow and red, like the spanish flag and all cheering USAP USAP over and over again. I think some soccer tournament just ended last night with USAP winning apparently.
We had heard to get to the top of tower it costs a lot of money. We also heard the lines were terribly long.Wherever we heard that from was lies.
We decided to take the stairs half way and an elevator to the top which costs us only 7 euros(about ten bucks). We were very happy with the price. As we made the ascent up many people passed us on the way down with happy faces so we new the view would please even if it was rainy.
On the first floor, it's probably a hundred feet up and the base is huge. Tons of space to walk around. After a few minutes we took the steps up the next floor which is a couple hundred feet up. We noticed that not nearly as many people were walking up this part. We made it to the second floor which is about half way up and stayed here for a few minutes. We both wanted to go to the top though. We took an elevator the rest of the way. Once out of the elevator, you are dropped off in this room where it shows you in what direction each city around the world is at. On second you could be looking in the direction of South Africa, next second looking 9000KM away from New York. It was pretty cool. We took stairs up to the opening and the views up high of the entire city was just spectacular. You can see everything. We could see the arch di triumphe from the top which look liked a speck because of how high we were. I took a bunch of pictures where I put my camera over the ledge facing down. Dan got nervous thinking I was gonna drop it but I didn't. And I'm glad I didn't. Could have killed someone if it hit anybody.
We stayed up for a good while and then headed back down to the base. In the area, we decided to cross the river and head to the Arch De Triumphe.
The next quarter of mile there was non stop merchants trying to sell you miniature eiffel towers every ten feet it seemed. Once passed the merchants, we walked to the famous memorial of Napolean.
If anybody knows history about this, they built the arch around a circle where 12 streets come together. There are no traffic lights, just cars going in every different direction. It could possibly be the craziest intersection ever. When we got there we had no idea how to get the arch but then found out you have to take a tunnel underground so you don't get killed by all the cars out there.
I hadn't realized that the Arch was so huge. We played minesweeper and ate cheap cookies as we took a break under the Arch. Then we went to the golden arches. That's right. We ate McDonald's in Paris. We had big macs which Dan didn't like.
Then we walked all the way to the Louvre and through all these gardens and passed a few obelisks and fountains. Buy the time we got to the Louvre, we realized that we needed to get back to the hostel to make the 7PM dinner. We hopped on the metro again and headed back to our hostel on Rue de Crimee.
The rest of the night we've been chilling around the huge hostel here.
Tomorrow is museum day.
End note,
Tyler

Friday, June 5, 2009

Nice and Paris

So now our stay in Nice is over so let me go over it. I finally have an american keyboard so I can write. The french keyboards are very tricky, you have to shift to get a period and many of the buttons are far different. So now I can write a little.
We got to Nice on Tuesday around 4PM and hadn't had anything since an early breakfast so we were starving. We had dinner at the promenade and then checked into our hostel, 'Hotel Meyerbeer Beach' which is only 2 blocks from the beautiful beaches. When we checked in, our room was kinda small. And it had 8 beds in it. The room should have had around 4 people in it so it was EXTREMELY tight to manuever. If you were clausterphobic (sp?) you'd be in for trouble. But Dan and I have seen worse so we didn't mind much, besides the roommates were pretty cool anyway.
Once we got rid of our appetites, we suited up for the rock beaches of Nice. Dan went for the water and I just wanted to lay out in the sun. As soon as we got there we noticed something we never noticed back in the states. We were on a nude beach. Many of the woman were going topless. Not feeling to comfortable, we stayed on the beach for an hour tops and then decided to do other things in Nice instead of the beaches.
So Wednesday we slept til about ten AM which is by far the latest we have slept because the hotel did not give free breakfasts. We had these belgium sugar waffles right down the street which were great.
Luckily Nice has this tour called the 'Le Grande tour Nice' which is a bus that takes tourists all over Nice and you can get off and on at 14 different stops. Dan and I did the whole tour on Wednesday and learned alot about the history and culture of the city. Then we climbed this castle, I forget what it was called but it once was a castle that has amazing panaromic views of the city. (the picture on the front of the blog is taking from up there but not by me).
After a few hours of admiring the views of the coastline of Nice, we walked back to our hostel and did laundry for the rest of the day.
Thursday we woke up 11 again, sleeping in. Then we had our waffles and heading out for a property at northern nice that had a couple of free museums. We walked through this cool orchard for a few minutes and then went into the Henri Matisse museum. About ten minutes later we exited. LOL. We aren't big fans of art so we just look and then leave. We saw a few more museums and then went to the opposite side of town and found the Eglise Russe, which is a church that was designed by a Russian. It looked like it belonged in Moscow. It was really really unique.
For dinner, yet again we had this thing called Kebab. It's like a pork sandwich that is pretty inexpensive but very very unhealthy. We've had it atleast 5 times since in Europe.
Friday we woke up at 8 and headed to the Nice Ville train station and had to wait about an hour to get on board. Once on the train, we had a 5 hour, 40 minute train ride to Paris. This was by far the longest train ride we've had so far.
Once in the Paris Gare de Lyon station, we took a couple metro stations and walked to our hostel 'St. Christophers Inn' which is awesome so far.
Tomorrow we plan to start touring.
Leave love!

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Through June 2nd

So I haven't updated for while because the last few days the internet has been caveman like and the french keyboards are really confusing. Sorry for any typos.
Friday was our last day in Interlaken. This was our favorite city so it was tough to leave.
We took the two hour train to Luzern and headed for our hostel. Unfortunately we couldn't check in so this was a bummer because we were early. So, we jumped on a 90 minute yacht and headed for the base of Mount Pilatus.
Once there, we took the steepest cog rail train to the top of the mountain at 7,000 feet. Once at the top, It was really cold and I forgot my hoodie so I mainly coughed and shiffered. We went down the mountain on the opposite side on the gondola. We didn't do much for the rest of the night. When we went to bed, our roommate tom snored louder than a bear. I couldn't believe it.
The next morning we left for Geneva, Switzerland. Once there, we found out that CERN, the lab dan wanted to see was closed on Saturday so we had nothing do. The hostel wasn't to nice either. No kitchen, bad roommates and expensive internet made our one night stay in geneva bad one.
The next morning we took the train to Lyon, France. We had to walk a long 2 miles to our hostel. The last leg was up a very steep hill that nearly drained us. Once in the hostel, the view was terrific as we had a yard to sit in with a panoramic view of Lyon.
On Monday, we walked around Lyon though most things were closed as Monday is a quiet day in this town. We still had tons of fun.
This morning we geared up and left for the train station. Around 3PM we arrived in the beautiful Nice, France.
Tonight we haven't done much except lay on the beach as our hostel is only 2 blocks from the beach=)
I should be updatting this on Friday when we get to Paris.